New Russian Chronicles
Surviving monotaxocausofilia

Stateside

I remember exactly the circumstance in which I learnt this word. Stateside.

Does that happen to you a lot? I mean, remembering just when, and how you learnt a particular word? Well it happens to me.

I guess, of course, that the experience must be completely different whether you are speaking your mother tongue or not. In fact, I remember of how I learnt many words of English, but I almost never remember how I learnt words in Spanish. I guess I just learnt them, when I was too young to turn these ideas in my head.

So, I learnt Stateside thanks to a videogame. Actually, videogames are a big part of why I know languages. I didn’t get much exposure to language when I was a kid. I didn’t have foreign relatives, and didn’t travel. But I did a load of videogames.
And remember, Spanish kids, they were not translated at the time. So I got a lot of words from that. That explains why, still today, I can discuss sci-fi types of engines using the appropiate vocabulary, but don’t ask me the names of things from the kitchen. (Like, ladle? You speaking French now? L’adelle? ?L’adel? what?)

So… I have always liked strategy videogames. I’ll have to make a post about them. Really, I know a lot. Though I suck pretty bad at them, but I love them.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Pacific General is a computer wargame depicting famous battles of the World War II Pacific campaigns. It was published by Strategic Simulations in 1997 using the same game engine of the earlier and successful Panzer General for Windows 95.
—-

So yeah, I played quite a bit of that one. I wish it had not been as buggy.
It can be summed up as: The fights are increasingly difficult for the Japanese, and increasingly easy for the US.

Thing is, the first scenario you got to play with the US Navy was Midway. You controlled the US fleet and duked it out with, essentially, the whole Japanese carrier force of the Pacific ocean.

You could get a major victory, a minor victory, or a defeat. It depended on wether you destroyed 5, 4 or 3 of the enemy carriers. Of course, the major victory was to destroy them all. Well, that I never managed, but i could, after some practice, reliably win the battle.

When you lost, however, you could read this message from your commander. “You have lost the battle for us, and the enemy has landed in Midway. This is a disaster we’ll take years to recover from. You will be of more use behind a desk stateside. Now get this civilian out of my office.”

And that’s how I learnt stateside. Pretty cool word, huh? I admit I try to use it when I can.

En fin.

More on to videogames, about that one, you know, the best, most complete MMORPG there is… I passed the outlands test.

And music.

4 comentarios to “Stateside”

  1. I remember when I learned the word interlocutor. And the word schaudenfreude.

  2. I can imagine how you learnt Schadenfreude, but what about interlocultor? I’d like to hear that story.

  3. A guy I was dating used it in casual conversation. I didn’t know what it meant. I gave him a super hard ribbing for using a $2 ($2 = fancy) word in casual conversation… but I failed to think of a better word to use.

  4. An American linguist I know and took a class with told me one day he’d discovered a new English-language word he liked. It was “hirsute”. He had a hard time believing I’d know of the word, much less its meaning, and wanted to know where I’d learnt it. I had an equally hard time remembering.

    Do you notice the confirmation bias that occurs once you learn a word, term or phrase? Suddenly it seems everywhere.


Responder

